Books Read In August 2020

Hello, bookish friends! Welcome to my blog Chaotic Pages! This post will consist of  mini reviews for my top 3 reads of the month, and list the rest of the books with ratings. Along with what I am currently reading. This month was a good reading month! I came across a few new favorites. I read a total of 7 books and 2,899 pages. It was a good reading month for me. I would like to keep up this momentum until the end of the year! Without further ado lets get into it! 

Books I Read

Top 3 Books (In no particular order) 

One The Come Up By Angie Thomas (464 pages)⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ (4.5)

Sixteen-year-old Bri wants to be one of the greatest rappers of all time. Or at least make it out of her neighborhood one day. As the daughter of an underground rap legend who died before he hit big, Bri’s got big shoes to fill. But now that her mom has unexpectedly lost her job, food banks and shutoff notices are as much a part of Bri’s life as beats and rhymes. With bills piling up and homelessness staring her family down, Bri no longer just wants to make it—she has to make it.

I loved this so much! Bri is one of my favorite female protagonists. How can you hate her she speaks up for what is right, she cares for her family and is willing to do anything for them and is authentically herself without hesitation. Love how this story showed an appreciation of rap music and culture. This was SO good. I’m so happy it’s being adapted into a film because everyone needs to know this story!

House In The Cerulean Sea by T.J Klune (393 pages) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ (5)

A magical island. A dangerous task. A burning secret.

Linus Baker leads a quiet, solitary life. At forty, he lives in a tiny house with a devious cat and his old records. As a Case Worker at the Department in Charge Of Magical Youth, he spends his days overseeing the well-being of children in government-sanctioned orphanages.

When Linus is unexpectedly summoned by Extremely Upper Management he’s given a curious and highly classified assignment: travel to Marsyas Island Orphanage, where six dangerous children reside: a gnome, a sprite, a wyvern, an unidentifiable green blob, a were-Pomeranian, and the Antichrist. Linus must set aside his fears and determine whether or not they’re likely to bring about the end of days.

I loved every second of this book and these charming characters especially the powerful message of this book! It’s about acceptance, love, and standing up for what you truly in. It’s an endearing found family story that will warm your heart. It has a slow burn romance that won’t frustrate you in any way because it unfolds perfectly and the pining is *chef’s kiss*. This writing!! I ate it up!

Heart Bones by Colleen Hoover ( 338 pages) ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ (4.5)

Life and a dismal last name are the only two things Beyah Grim’s parents ever gave her. After carving her path all on her own, Beyah is well on her way to bigger and better things, thanks to no one but herself.
With only two short months separating her from the future she’s built and the past she desperately wants to leave behind, an unexpected death leaves Beyah with no place to go during the interim. Forced to reach out to her last resort, Beyah has to spend the remainder of her summer on a peninsula in Texas with a father she barely knows and meets someone whom she might like.

“Look at us. Two lonely kids who slipped through all the cracks, but then climbed right back up to the top of the world”

Beyah spends the summer with her father and his new family and she bummed that this is how she has to spend her last summer before she goes off for college. Her fathers neighbor, Samson, turns out to be an unexpected new friend and might be the only person she doesn’t hate. A summer fling starts up but agree to keep it light fling since they are both leaving at the end summer. All I am going to say this is not as predictable I thought it was going to be. This was an emotional ride. I loved every moment, every page, and I adore the two main characters Beyah and Samson so much. I related to Beyah through unfortunate life experiences the reason why I carry this book so close to my heart. Its a story of love, survival, trust, and allowing yourself to be free. 
Content Warning: Substance Abuse

That’s a Wrap!

I am ready to get back into blogging consistently and plan on being more active within the community. I would like to join in autumn festivities! Comment down below If there are any fall themed read alongs or tags to participate in. Thank you so much for reading! 

4 thoughts on “Books Read In August 2020

  1. You are amazing reading all these books! The House in the Cerulean Sea sounds super interesting, definitely a book I would’ve devoured when I still read. Perhaps I’ll find it in me to read again like I used to and perhaps this book may be the first I pick up!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.